Be an upstander, not a bystander

Online or offline, bullying hurts. Teach your teens what is and isn’t acceptable communication on the web. And if you suspect your teen might be the victim of bullying or engaging in bullying activity, step in. The advice from our partners might also be useful when you have those conversations.

Advice from our partners

MediaSmarts

Cyberbullying, which can be the equivalent of “social death” for many young people, can be very traumatic. It differs from traditional, face-to-face bullying in that it is relentless and public, and at the same time anonymous. Add to this the potential presence of countless, invisible witnesses and/or collaborators to the cyberbullying, and you have a situation where victims are left unsure of who knows, and whom to fear. The best response to cyberbullying is a pro-active and preventative one. Parents should set rules for younger children, including never provide personally identifiable information online, don’t share passwords with friends, and treat everyone with respect. With teenagers, parents need to discuss the nature of their online interactions and responsible use of the internet. To respond to a cyberbullying incident, parents should meet with school officials if the perpetrator is a peer from school. If the activity includes threats, it should be reported to the local police. Young people can call Kids Help Phone, at 1-800-668-6868, for advice on dealing with bullying. Read more advice on cyberbullying.

Safety tools

Discover Google safety tools designed to help your family monitor their online reputation.

YouTube

Manage YouTube Comments

If someone is making comments that you don't like on your videos or Channel, you can block them on YouTube. This means they won't be able to comment on your stuff or send you private messages.

Learn more

To block someone on YouTube, visit their Channel page, which should have a URL similar to www.youtube.com/user/NAME.

On their “About” tab, click the flag icon.

Lastly, click block user.

YouTube

Share videos with just the right audience

Whether you want to keep a video private, share it with a few friends, or release it to the world, there’s a privacy setting for you. On YouTube, videos are set to “Public” by default, but you can easily change the settings in “Privacy Settings” while you’re uploading the video. If you change your mind later, you can change the privacy of an already-uploaded video.

Learn more

To change Privacy Settings, visit your Video Manager.

Find the video you’d like to change, then click the Edit button.

Go to the “Privacy Settings” drop-down menu.

Pick Public to share with everyone, Unlisted to share with users who have a link to the video, or Private to share with specific users.

Click Save changes.

Google+

Stop unwanted comments or tags

If you’d rather not see someone’s posts on Google+, you can block them by going to their profile and selecting Report/block [person’s name]. You can also mute specific posts to no longer see them in your stream.

Learn more

To block someone on desktop, go to their profile.

On the side of the profile click Report/block [person’s name].

Confirm that you want to block that person.

Google+

Choose whose updates you see in your stream

What if someone adds you to their circles, but you're not interested in interacting with them? If you don’t want to block them, you can mute them instead. If you mute a user, you will no longer receive notifications from them or their page.

Learn more

Open Google+.

Go to someone’s profile/page.

Click the arrow below their profile photo and info.

Select “Mute [person/page]”.

YouTube

Control the chatter about your videos

It’s easy to moderate the comments on your YouTube channel. You can choose to delete comments, or to hold comments from certain people or with certain keywords from being published before you review them.

Learn more

To moderate comments, click the arrow in the upper right of a comment to see your options.

Click Remove to take down the comment from YouTube.

Or, click Ban from channel to block the user from posting comments on videos and your channel.

In Comment Settings, you can require approval for all new comments before they’re posted or you can disable comments.

Comment Settings allows you set filters for who can comment on your channel. You can also block comments with certain words.

See more safety tools