Parade's End

Front Cover
Vintage Books, 2012 - Fiction - 912 pages
13 Reviews

Ford Madox Ford's masterpiece, a tetralogy set in England during World War I, is widely considered one of the best novels of the twentieth century.

First published as four separate novels (Some Do Not . . ., No More Parades, A Man Could Stand Up—, and The Last Post) between 1924 and 1928, Parade's End explores the world of the English ruling class as it descends into the chaos of war. Christopher Tietjens is an officer from a wealthy family who finds himself torn between his unfaithful socialite wife, Sylvia, and his suffragette mistress, Valentine. A profound portrait of one man's internal struggles during a time of brutal world conflict, Parade's End bears out Graham Greene's prediction that “There is no novelist of this century more likely to live than Ford Madox Ford.”


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Parade's End (Parade's End #1-4)

User Review  - Linda - Goodreads

Parade"s End is, of course, a masterpiece, worthy of five stars, but my reading experience, to be honest, was mixed. I loved some of the scenes early on (the writing, the structure is brilliant), yet ... Read full review

Review: Parade's End (Parade's End #1-4)

User Review  - Grace Bugnacki - Goodreads

Parade's End is made up of four novels: Some Do Not, No More Parades, A Man Could Stand Up, and The Last Post. The protagonist, Christopher Tietjens, is devoted to conserve the Edwardian traditions of ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Ford Madox Ford (1873–1939), was born in England. Author of The Good Soldier, Parade's End, and The Fifth Queen, he is also remembered for founding two influential literary journals and championing many of the leading modernist writers of the day.

Bibliographic information